Governing Body

The role of the Board of Governors is to ensure that we deliver for our funders, students and the Island. Members of the Board are not involved in operational aspects of the day-to-day running of UCM; rather their role is to help ensure this is achieved via the recruitment and selection of relevant staff.

The Board acts as a critical friend to us ensuring that we fulfil our responsibilities by the setting of strategic goals, monitoring the delivery of those goals and if the goals are not being achieved, understanding why and ensuring that the approach is adjusted or the goal amended.

To ensure that a wide range of knowledge and skills is employed for the decision making processes throughout the duration of the Board’s formation, membership of the Board of Governors is an eclectic mix of the Island’s community, and is made up of external personnel, representatives from the Isle of Man Government and elected UCM student and staff representatives.

Our current board of Governors

Mr Leslie Wong

Mr Errol Larson


Mr Geoff Moorcroft

Carol Glover

Mr David Scott


Mr Les Nicol


Debbie Scrimshaw

Mr Ian Britton
(University of Chester)


Caroline McLaughlan

Paula Kneen
(Staff Representative)


Paige Killey

(Student Representative)